Coventry City Council Minutes of the Meeting of Council held at 2.00 pm on Tuesday, 14 March 2017

Present:

Members: Councillor L Harvard (Chair)

Councillor F Abbott Councillor M Lapsa Councillor N Akhtar Councillor J Lepoidevin Councillor P Akhtar Councillor A Lucas Councillor P Male Councillor R Ali Councillor K Maton Councillor A Andrews Councillor R Auluck Councillor J McNicholas Councillor R Bailey Councillor C Miks Councillor S Bains Councillor K Mulhall Councillor L Bigham Councillor J Mutton Councillor J Birdi Councillor M Mutton Councillor J Blundell Councillor G Ridley Councillor K Caan Councillor E Ruane Councillor T Sawdon Councillor J Clifford Councillor G Crookes Councillor P Seaman Councillor G Duggins Councillor B Singh Councillor D Gannon Councillor R Singh Councillor M Hammon Councillor D Skinner Councillor J Innes Councillor H Sweet Councillor L Kelly Councillor K Taylor Councillor D Kershaw Councillor R Thay Councillor T Khan Councillor S Walsh Councillor A Khan Councillor D Welsh Councillor R Lakha Councillor G Williams

Honorary Mr D Batten, Mr D Chater, Mrs S Collins, Mrs H Fitzpatrick,

Aldermen: Mr J Gazey, Mrs H Noonan, Mr A Waugh

Apologies: Councillor R Brown, R Lancaster, T Mayer, J O'Boyle,

T Skipper and C Thomas

Public Business

127. Declarations of Interest

128. Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman

The City Council considered a report of the Chief Executive which set out the details of nominations for Honorary Alderman. The following five nominations had been received and were presented for approval:

(a) David Chater

Dave Chater served as a Member of the Council for 30 years between 1986 and 2016 representing citizens of Binley & Willenhall Ward. During that time

he was Chair of Transportation and Highways Committee, Chair of the Social Affairs Policy Co-ordinating Committee, Chair of Licensing and Regulatory Committee and served on a number of Committees. He was Lord Mayor in 2002-2003.

It was proposed by Councillor Lakha, seconded by Councillor J Mutton, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on David Chater as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr. Chater with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'. Honorary Alderman Chater then gave an acceptance speech.

(b) Sheila Collins JP

Sheila Collins JP was a Member of the Council serving Longford Ward for 18 years between 1986 and 2004. During that time she was a Chair of Leisure Services, Chair of Arts Policy Team, Chair of Planning Committee and Chair of Economic Regeneration Committee. She was Lord Mayor during the year 2000-2001.

It was proposed by Councillor Bigham, seconded by Councillor M Mutton, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Sheila Collins as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mrs Collins with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate her appointment and she signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'. Honorary Alderman Collins then gave an acceptance speech.

(c) Helen Fitzpatrick

Helen Fitzpatrick was a Member of the Council for 16 years representing Whoberley and Earlsdon Wards between 1978-1986 and 1987-1995. During that time she served on a number of Committees, including Leisure and Recreation Committee, Social Services Committee, Housing Committee and Finance Committee.

It was proposed by Councillor Crookes, seconded by Councillor Taylor, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Helen Fitzpatrick as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mrs Fitzpatrick with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate her appointment and she signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'. Honorary Alderman Fitzpatrick then gave an acceptance speech.

(d) Hazel Noonan

Hazel Noonan was a Member of the City Council for 16 years serving Cheylesmore Ward from 2000 to 2016. During that time she held a number of positions including Cabinet Member (Community Services), Cabinet Member (City Services) and Chair of Scrutiny Board (Health and Social Services). She was Lord Mayor in 2014-2015.

It was proposed by Councillor Bailey, seconded by Councillor Blundell, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Hazel Noonan as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mrs Noonan with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate her appointment and she signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'. Honorary Alderman Noonan then gave an acceptance speech.

(e) Arthur Waugh

Arthur Waugh was a Member of the Council representing the citizens of Westwood Ward for a total of 39 years from 1965 to 2004. During that time he became Coventry's Lord Mayor in 1988-1989 and held a number of positions including chair of Finance Committee, Social Services Committee and Recreation Committee. He also served as Deputy Leader of the Council.

It was proposed by Councillor M Mutton, seconded by Councillor Bigham, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Arthur Waugh as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr Waugh with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen'. Honorary Alderman Waugh then gave an acceptance speech.

(Meeting closed at 2.55 pm)